Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to punish young criminals has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that young offenders should be treated differently from adults, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that inflicting the same penalties on teenage criminals as adults is necessary do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that youngsters have to learn that not only does illegal behaviour have detrimental consequences, but it will not be tolerated. Furthermore, harsh punishment could act as a deterrent considering that if the youth witnessed juvenile delinquents receiving severe penalties, such as life imprisonment and capital punishment, they would be less likely to break the law.

My opinion, however, is that the authorities should not penalise young perpetrators of crimes in the same way as adults. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that imposing severe punishment on them is unfair considering that adolescents are more likely to have difficulty distinguishing right from wrong. In addition, teenage boys and girls should have opportunities to change and to become law-abiding citizens. To provide a hypothetical example, if our society deprived them of these chances, they would enter into a life of crime. In addition, there are a number of effective methods of punishment, including vocational training and community service, which makes it possible for young criminals to reintegrate back into society. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that punishing minors who perpetrate crimes as harshly as adults should be forbidden for the reasons discussed above.