Q1 Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of tourism has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that global tourism should not be discouraged as it exerts a positive influence on local communities, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from a boom in global tourism. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the development of the tourism industry can invigorate economic success considering that tourism attracts investment from multinational companies and governments. In addition, the tourism sector creates a myriad of employment opportunities in the building of facilities and the updating of infrastructure, including railways and roads, which allows local residents to land a job with greater ease. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for global tourism, there would be much higher unemployment rates in numerous renowned cities amongst travellers, such as Paris and Venice.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of tourism merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that a rise in global tourism poses a threat to the environment as a multitude of tourists produce a huge amount of waste. As an illustration, one notable natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea had various endangered species of birds. However, the majority of these species became extinct since a great deal of garbage generated by visitors caused damage to birds' habitats in 2010. Furthermore, some overseas tourists often commit vandalism, which places a heavy financial burden on local governments because they have to spend vast sums of money in restoring damaged amenities. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.