Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of tourism has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that global tourism benefits local communities a great deal and should not be discouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from a boom in tourism. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the advancement of the tourism industry invigorates economic growth considering that it attracts investment from multinational firms and governments across the globe. In addition, developments in the tourism sector create a multitude of employment opportunities in the building of facilities as well as the updating of infrastructure, leading local residents to have an improved standard of living. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for tourism, there would be much higher unemployment rates in a myriad of renowned cities amongst overseas visitors. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments in favour of global tourism.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the development of tourism merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that a growth in tourism poses a threat to the local environment since foreign travellers produce garbage. As an illustration, one notable natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea had more than 500 species of birds in 2010. However, the majority of these species became extinct due to a huge amount of waste generated by overseas tourists, which exerted a detrimental influence on birds' habitats. Furthermore, some foreign visitors often commit vandalism, placing a heavy burden on local governments because they have to spend an astronomical sum of public funding in restoring damaged amenities. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.