Q : Many parents these days work in other countries, taking their families with them. Do you think the advantage of the development outweigh its disadvantage?

Recently, the issue of working abroad has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are a number of disadvantages to taking up job postings overseas and moving to a foreign nation with their family members, these are outweighed by the advantages, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that families of overseas workers often face a number of difficulties do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that they might lack a sense of belonging and feel rootless considering that they will often be uprooted from their acquaintances. Another argument is that it is a negative development for a country if some of its most talented people emigrate and reside overseas. This means that there are fewer talented ones in the country, and as a result political and economic progress will be slowed.

My opinion, however, is that the benefits of this trend are more significant. Perhaps the principal advantage is that not only will families be able to experience different parts of the world, but they will also learn a language and make local friends. To be more specific, children with this sort of upbringing can develop an outward-looking, international outlook, which exerts a positive influence on their studies as well as future careers. Another benefit is that in compensation for the inconveniences of living abroad, they are often well paid and accompanied by many perks. To exemplify, overseas postings often include generous medical cover, free accommodation, school fees at international schools, and lucrative pension schemes, leading them to have an improved standard of living. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the benefits of dwelling in a foreign country with family members in order to work there surpass the drawbacks for the reasons discussed above.