Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the issue of young people's punishment has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that youth criminals should be treated differently from adult offenders, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that juvenile delinquents should be penalised in the same way as adults do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that teenagers need to learn that not only does their illegal behaviour have detrimental consequences, but it will not be tolerated. In addition, imposing harsh penalties on youth criminals could act as a deterrent. To provide a hypothetical example, if youngsters witnessed teenage perpetrators of crimes being incarcerated in jail, they would be less likely to break the law.

My opinion, however, is that forcing minors to take the same responsibility for their unlawful activities as adults has to be discouraged. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that it is unfair to inflict severe penalties on young criminals considering that the majority of the youth generally have difficulty distinguishing right from wrong. Another convincing reason is that adolescents should have a chance to change and to become law-abiding citizens. If they are punished severely, this opportunity might be lost and, as a result, they might enter into a life of crime, which exerts a negative influence on our society. Therefore, other methods of punishment, such as vocational training and community service, should be implemented in order to help them reintegrate back into society. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that punishing young offenders as harshly as adults should be forbidden for the reasons discussed above.