Q 11: Many animal species in the world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the conservation of animals has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that dealing with contemporary issues of humans should take precedence over preserving animals, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should not allow animals to go extinct do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the protection of animals plays a vital role in keeping biodiversity that is invaluable. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for making an effort to save animals, the food chain and ecosystem would be broken because of the disappearance of numerous endangered species of wildlife, exerting a detrimental influence on human beings who are on the top of the food chain.

My opinion, however, is that there are a number of important global issues which more emphasis should be placed on than animal protection given that preventing animals from disappearing is not directly related to individuals' daily lives. Perhaps the most pressing problem is global warming because a myriad of citizens across the globe are suffering from global warming which can even cause climate change, hindering the masses from having an improved standard of living. Another grave issue is global hunger directly related to the life of humans. To be more specific, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, approximately 17% of the world's population died due to poverty in 2015. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that conserving a multitude of species of animals should not be a priority for the reasons discussed above.