Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is the case? What can be done to attract local people?

Recently, the issue of a small number of locals entering historical facilities has become the subject of heated debate. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, such as entrance fees, and various measures could be taken to alleviate this issue, including launching a campaign. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this undesirable trend and present some solutions to the problem.

There do seem to be numerous causes underlying this phenomenon. Perhaps the most oft-cited cause is that the majority of local governments have a tendency to only focus on travellers when they promote local attractions. This is partly because governments in local areas are obsessed with attracting visitors from other cities or nations who are more likely to expend a great deal of money on other industries in local areas, which can invigorate economic growth. Another fundamental cause is that the majority of citizens consider paying the same amount of money for entrance to local sites to be unfair, compared to travellers given that they spend a vast sum of money on tax money in order to support local governments.

There are, however, several courses of action that local governments as well as historical amenities could take to address the root cause of the problem. The most practical solution to this problem is a local government-sponsored awareness campaign. An effective advertising campaign could notify the fact that a multitude of local facilities have difficulty attracting locals to them and hopefully, raise awareness amongst local residents. For example, the city government of Daejeon located in the middle of South Korea recently recommended their citizens to visit local facilities and this resulted in a dramatic increase in the number of residents visiting historical sites in Daejeon. A second feasible solution would be for local facilities to charge inhabitants less for admission to these amenities, leading to a growth in the number of local visitors.

In conclusion, the aforementioned problems have resulted from various causes suggested above and can be tackled with various steps. If every sector of our society makes a concerted effort, we can combat the problems.