Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is the case? What can be done to attract local people?

It is true that foreign tourists mainly are interested in museum and historical place and local attendance is low negatively. This essay not only might reveal behind reasons of this reality but also recommend some solutions to appeal the local.

There are diverse causes which have been leading to low percentage of the local’s absence at traditional places. First of all, the domestical citizens are too familiar with these locations because of their rich awareness of the local culture and history. The local is not attractive by something which they deeply and previously have fathomed them when learning in school educations. For example, the Vietnam War Museum have been welcoming a significant overseas traveler quantity each year but not the local people. The primary reason is that the Vietnamese was learnt so much the Vietnam War in the history subject and there is no reason why they tend to visit an exhibition that display what they understood sharply. Additionally, museum and historical exhibitions are so outdated and monotonous that the negative people anticipate to explore them. In other word, historical places are not magnificent to the local as these collections are inadequate. This further discourages the insiders.

To appeal domestical residents to museum and historical locations, diverse approach could be implemented simultaneously. Local authorities who manage these sites have to redecorate them and make them more attractive and stunning as well as organize continuously outdoors activities nearby the historical remarkable places. One particular circumstance is that the Thong Nhat Palace has been appealing a significant dimension of the local citizens visiting its each month. This positive outcome results from the local government effort which it may well be a combination of outdoor musical events occurring at the front of the Palace and eternal advance redecorations for this place. Applying this way helps the palace to be worth a visit. Moreover, governors could invest in technological applications in order to exhibit culture and historical shows. For example, the Science and Art Museum of Ho Chi Minh City has promulgated cutting edge display devices including three dimensional effects and advance technology lasers to rekindle the interest of the local. The performance of this implementation is outstanding and the ratio of attendance coming from Ho Chi Minh City dramatically has been increasing since these display systems were devised by the technical director of the Museum.

In conclusion, several bargains limiting appearance in these above - mentioned traditional places of negative people is inevitable and unavoidable however smooth collaborative approaches might address the fact profitably.