Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of tourism has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that global tourism benefits local communities a great deal and should not be discouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from a boom in the tourism industry. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the development of tourism invigorates economic growth considering that it attracts investment from multinational firms and governments across the globe. In addition, the advancement of tourism sectors creates a multitude of employment opportunities in the building of facilities and the updating of infrastructure, leading locals to have an improved standard of living. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for tourism, there would be much higher unemployment rates in a myriad of renowned cities amongst overseas visitors, such as London and Paris. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments in favour of tourism.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that developments in global tourism merely bring with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that a growth in the tourism sector poses a threat to the local environment since a huge amount of waste is produced by foreign travellers. As an illustration, one notable natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea had more than 500 species of birds in 2010. However, the majority of them became extinct due to a great deal of garbage generated by tourists. Furthermore, some visitors commit vandalism, which places a heavy burden on local governments as they have to spend vast sums of public money in order to restore damaged facilities. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.