It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, whether traveling is helpful to learn about other culture has become a fiercely controversial issue. Some people assert that people do not need to travel other countries for learning about culture since they can experience by using other materials, while others argue that traveling should be encouraged to learn about culture. I wholeheartedly agree with the latter stand. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

First of all, it seems difficult to refute the idea that traveling is the best way to explore other culture. The most compelling reason is that traveling makes it possible for people to obtain first-hand experience, whereas people who use other sources, such as books and films, only can reap second-hand experience. To be specific, staying abroad offers travellers a myriad of opportunities to think about culture more deeply as they directly communicate with foreigners.

In addition, a multitude of materials, such as books and movies, give biased information to people because these cannot help including the intention of writers. To exemplify, when I was in university, my university forced me to have a field trip by myself and my professor recommended some books about a number of different countries including China. One book released by a famous tourist illustrates that China is less developed country and most citizens have a tendency to sell plenty of items excessive expensively, compared to the original price. However, while I was staying in China, I realized that Chinese culture and people are totally different from information that I had obtained from the book. If I did not have the chance to travel, I might have regarded China in a negative way. For these reason, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that more emphasis should be placed on traveling to receive knowledge related to the culture, compared to other sources.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that traveling allows people to broaden their point of views about the culture for the reasons discussed above.