Opinions are divided on whether people ought to travel to different places to learn about the culture or to learn from books, films and the Internet. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the former statement and I will explain why.

Granted, one might claim that online resources are sufficient in learning about a new culture. This is predicated on the assumption that on the Internet, people could observe various points of views about a culture, which is the best method to have an overview of such culture he or she would like to understand. However, this line of reasoning is not sound, since online or book reviews are usually not up to date, thus making these reviews bias. To illustrate, visitors to a third world country like Philippines tend to stay in a luxury hotel and consume the nation’s best cuisine, therefore their experiences of that culture is not realistic. Furthermore, books and the internet only depict the bright side of a culture, and visitors could not study about such culture without first-hand experience.

As for the first-hand experience, if he or she wants to look closer at a newly discovered culture, he or she cannot use second-hand experience as a foundation. For instance, when researching a phenomenon like racism in one culture, people cannot expect a social student who has never visited any country before, talking excessively about how racist people in that culture are. Additionally, information about a culture on the Internet can only be so helpful to a certain extent. In other words, this information only supplements and does not replace what he or she has known about that culture. Take cuisine, for example, people who have not eaten traditional Pho in Viet Nam could not think of its taste and neither read nor listen about it helps.

To conclude, although books and the Internet do benefit people in having an overview of the culture, these cannot replace the pivotal role of travelling in order to truly learn about the culture, since real-life experience cannot be compared to old, inaccurate experiences of others.