In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that ameliorating current public transport systems should take precedence over building new transport systems for bullet trains, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that establishing new, faster railway lines for bullet trains is more crucial than renovating existing public transport do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that these lines could facilitate the nationwide transport of goods and passengers, meaning that not only can citizens with relatives in other parts of the country meet each other with greater ease, but parcels are also able to be delivered quickly. Furthermore, the advent of these lines leads to a boom in domestic tourism, which invigorates economic growth and can even make it possible for the public to have an improved standard of living.

My opinion, however, is that the masses benefit a lot more from improving local and existing transport. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that current transport systems play an important role in citizens' daily lives given that the majority of the masses have a predisposition to make use of these systems on a regular basis in order to commute to and from work. In other words, an increase in the quality of existing transport exerts a positive influence on people's well-being. In addition, an astronomical sum of tax money is required to erect bullet train lines and facilities, placing a financial burden on the government. As an illustration, one recent study conducted by the government of China has demonstrated that the amount of money allocated to setting up bullet train lines is predicted to approximately six times higher than reforming current transport systems. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that upgrading existing public transport should be prioritised for the reasons discussed above.