Q6. Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of children's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that children should attend schools with the opposite sex, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that boys and girls should attend separate schools do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that partaking in single-sex education makes it possible for young people to concentrate on their studies considering that they are not generally distracted by the opposite sex by paying attention to their appearance. In addition, children are more likely to adapt to their school life with greater ease since they might find it easier to mingle with like-minded people, which in turn leads them to feel a sense of belonging. Given these points, some people hold the view that children of different sexes should be schooled separately.

My opinion, however, is that the benefits of mixed schooling are more significant. Perhaps the principal advantage is that teenagers can learn how to behave towards the opposite sex, respect them and treat them as equals. This can be hindered if boys and girls are not regularly exposed to each other at school. Furthermore, pupils who participate in mixed schools have a predisposition to become more open-minded to others, which exerts a positive influence on society. To be more specific, those who are accustomed to accepting diversity can play a vital role in the development of society as they have less difficulty embracing cultural diversity in the era of globalisation. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that receiving mixed education should be required for the reasons discussed above.