Many people are busy with work and do not have enough time to spend with family and friends. Why does this happen? What are the effects of this on family life and society as a whole?

Recently, the issue of people spending less time with their acquaintances has become the subject of heated debate. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, such as cut-throat competition at the workplace, and the repercussions on family and social life are numerous. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this undesirable trend and the consequences of it.

There do seem to be numerous causes underlying this social phenomenon. Perhaps the most oft-cited cause of this development could be that the level of competition at work has increased in modern society. Therefore, a multitude of working adults are forced to devote huge amounts of time and energy to work in order to perform well. This means that dedication to work deprives employees of a chance to allocate time to their relatives as well as friends. Another fundamental cause is that our lives take place at a higher speed than ever before, especially regarding work. To be specific, although the introduction of technology such as email, smartphones, and Skype has made it possible for people to work faster and more efficiently, the amount of work-related stress has soared accordingly.

There are a number of negative influences of this development on family bonds. First and foremost, the divorce rate is rising considering that people are spending less time with their family members. Couples have difficulty communicating with each other a lot and as a result, relationships deteriorate. In addition, friends who see each other less frequently owing to work commitments drift apart and eventually lose contact, which exerts a negative impact on building a strong relationship with one another. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for a heavy workload, people would be more likely to keep in touch with their acquaintances on a regular basis.

In conclusion, the aforementioned problems have resulted from various causes suggested above and are very serious. However, if every sector of our society makes a concerted effort, we can combat the problems.