Q: Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of social networking services has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that social media exert a positive influence on people as well as society, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from using social networking applications, such as Facebook and Instagram. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the development of social media has revolutionised the way people communicate with their acquaintances regardless of time and place with greater ease. Furthermore, users can share their interests with their friends or family members on social networking services, which makes it possible for them to build a strong relationship with each other. To be more specific, they can not only strengthen social bonds but also feel a sense of belonging. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that people can reap a myriad of advantages from making use of social media.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that social media merely bring positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that teenagers who often have difficulty distinguishing right from wrong are easily targeted by criminals on social media platforms considering that offenders can contact youngsters by making fake profiles at anywhere and anytime, leading to an increase in the crime rate. In addition, users are more likely to become addicted to social media platforms, which have a detrimental effect on their daily life. In other words, excessive social media usage can deprive them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be devoted to their studies or work. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.