Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Recently, the issue of living abroad has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that residing in a nation where a foreign language is spoken can lead to practical and social problems, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from dwelling overseas. Perhaps the principal benefit is that people can get a chance to have a tight grasp of a foreign language considering that they are always exposed to an environment where they have to speak in a language apart from their own language. Furthermore, people who have experiences of living in a foreign country are more likely to compete with their counterparts with greater ease in the job market owing to their language skills. To exemplify, one recent study conducted by Seoul National University has demonstrated that the majority of companies in South Korea have a predisposition to hire employees who are multilingual given that a great deal of their business revolves around global trading. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that residing in a foreign country should be encouraged.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that living in an overseas nation merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the language barrier often prevents people who are not fluent in a second language from communicating with speakers of it, making them have difficulty in having a deeper understanding of other cultures and can even result in cultural conflicts. In addition, being forced to speak in a language other than ones' mother tongue could cause people to suffer from dealing with their small tasks that seem to be insurmountable, including doctors' appointments and going shopping, which can even exert a negative influence on the quality of their life. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.