Q: More and more children are accessing the internet unsupervised. This can sometimes put them at risk. What problems do you think parents face when dealing with their children using the Internet? How can this problem be solved?

Recently, the impact of excessive use of the internet on children has become the subject of heated debate. There are several problems caused by this phenomenon, such as juvenile delinquency, and various measures could be taken to alleviate this issue, including launching a campaign. In this essay, I will explain the problems caused by this undesirable trend, and present some solutions to the problem.

It seems difficult to deny several related problems can be anticipated as children can make use of the internet with great ease. The most pressing problem is that the majority of children exposed to harmful and obscene information are more likely to commit copycat crimes since they are less able to distinguish right from wrong. Another grave issue is that children are prone to becoming addicted to the internet considering that they have difficulty controlling themselves, which exerts a negative influence on their academic performance.

There are, however, several courses of action that the government and parents could take to address the problems described above. The most practical solution to this problem is a government-sponsored awareness campaign. An effective advertising campaign could warn of the dangers of a great deal of violent information online and hopefully, raise awareness amongst the public. For example, the UK recently lobbied their citizens to attend a compulsory education program about the detrimental effects of unsuitable information on crime and this resulted in a dramatic decrease in youth crime rates. A second feasible solution would be for parents to set a time limit for children’s use of the internet given that it prevents children from devoting a huge amount of time and energy to using the internet.

In conclusion, the aforementioned problems can be tackled with various steps. If every sector of our society makes a concerted effort, we can combat the problems.