Q5 : It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of how to understand the culture of other places has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people do not need to travel overseas in order to learn about the culture, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that travelling abroad makes it possible for people to have a deeper understanding of different cultures. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that visiting a foreign nation enables travellers not only to communicate with locals in person but also to mingle with them, leading tourists to acquire real knowledge about local cultures. Furthermore, some materials, such as books and films, often present biased information considering that these include intentions of writers or producers, which hinders readers from understanding cultures precisely. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that first-hand experience is much more beneficial for learning about cultures than second-hand experience.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that paying a visit to an overseas country is the sole way of having a tight grasp of foreign cultures. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that developments in technology have revolutionised the way people can gain a huge amount of information about other cultures regardless of time and place with greater ease and even can reap knowledge about areas that they cannot visit. As an illustration, one cultural heritage site that has numerous endangered species of birds in South Korea prevented people from travelling to that area in 2015 because a multitude of visitors took a heavy toll on the environment. However, people can obtain information about that place by using various methods, including the Internet. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.