The qualities and skills that a person requires to become successful in today's world cannot be learned at a university or other academic institutions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, many people have strong tendency toward success. Achieving success cannot be possible by acquiring skills and qualifications at universities or other academic institutes. Without any doubt I completely agree with the statement, and I will express my opinion through this essay.

First of all, although degrees and certificates are useful for a person, they cannot help an individual to achieve success solely. By way of illustration, intelligence, as well as diligence, are two other factors for becoming successful, which cannot be measured by just receiving excellent grades and holding certificates. For instance, Albert Einstein and Steve Jobs were two famous figures, who were successful due to their diligence and intelligence; however, they have never had a certificate from universities or educational institutes.

Secondly, educational systems in universities and other academic institutes have become antiquated nowadays. Universities had been invented many years ago, while simple curricula such as math, psychology and politics were taught. This system has not evolved adequately throughout the years. Thus, a person would not gain the required skills or qualifications which are practical for today's world because those are outdated. For example, electrical systems that are being utilized in transmission lines are completely different from those lessons that are being thought to students in electrical engineering courses because of that they cannot use their knowledge.

In conclusion, acquiring skills and qualification from universities or other educational institutes could not lead an individual to become successful because it requires other factors like intelligence as well as diligence. Besides, educational systems in universities and educational institute are outdated, and I strongly agree with the statement.