Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, learning a foreign language like English is useful for most people. Some specialists hold the view that it is preferred children should start acquiring new language at primary school instead of secondary school. In my opinion, it has both merits and demerits to learn a foreign language at primary school.

On the one hand, generally, children learn more efficiently when they are at younger ages. They can obtain more information because they have plenty of free time, and they are less engaged with problems than older children in secondary school. By way of illustration, secondary pupils have more tasks to do than primary Students. Consequently, they would acquire a new language quicker in comparison with those older children. A growing body of research suggests that the students of primary schools are more capable of learning a new language in spite of their young ages.

On the other hand, primary students are too young to handle all the responsibilities. Although younger children possess the more free time, they still have other lessons such as math and biology to study. Therefore, if they want to cover all the lessons correctly, they will experience a considerable amount of pressure to learn a new language. From an educational perspective, it can be a threat to their health. For instance, the education minister of Japan ordered the primary school to consider the English language in students' curricula. Since Japanese primary pupils found it considerably tough to obtain, the primary schools' managers reported that most of the students were suffering from depression.

In conclusion, younger pupils are more capable of acquiring a new language. However, they have other responsibilities in primary schools. I believe that teaching a foreign language in primary rather than secondary schools has benefits as well as drawbacks.