Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many educational authorities claim that starting learning foreign language at elementary school brings lots of benefits instead of the time when students go to higher school. There are advantages to this, but I feel that, there are also downside to consider.

One of the obvious advantages of studying foreign language is that the growth of individual brain. Children are fast-learner, so their mind is grasping new vocabularies and things at early ages, the more learn, the more intelligent. For example, my nephew is at the age of 9, he is learning English language very quickly and pick up the right pronunciation. Moreover, the primary school's curriculums are too narrow than secondary school. Therefore, the students have plenty of time to devote themselves to practice on learning another language.

Another major benefit is that, there are many job opportunities. In modern's era, most of the companies communicate with other overseas companies. Since, the English language known as an international language, most employers will be impressed by a candidate who is bilingual rather than they would be by one who is monolingual. As a result, bilingual applicant has great chance to get a job vacancy.

However, the other side of the coin is, the native language of children may not be perfectly. Consequently, they might get confused. In addition, due to teaching foreign language beside other fundamental sciences may be tiring and boring for them.

All in all, in spite of the difficulties of studying second language at primary ages, the advantages of this issue are far more than the disadvantages.