The quality of healthcare a person receives should not depend on the size of their bank balance. The government is responsible for providing a high level of healthcare for all its citizens. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that any individual should receive the same quality of healthcare regardless of their financial conditions, and the government ought to ensure this. I concur with this view, and in what follows, it will be argued why universal health care is advantageous for the economy of a country and more ethically correct.

Universal health care lowers healthcare costs for an economy. By providing people with preventive care, the number of access in hospital lower too. For instance, in the USA, in the last year 46% of people who can not afford some medications or screening end up using the emergency room because this is the only way they have to access the health service. This has largely increased the cost of the health system, and this increase could have been avoided if universal care of preventive medicine were provided. Hence, countries with no universal care programs may end up pay more for their health care systems.

In addition, from an ethical point of view, nobody should die because they cannot afford access to medical care. Denying care to a person in need can lead to an increase in crime and dehumanisation. Sadly, in the United States who cannot afford health insurance will not be given healthcare. A recent article reported that a 24-year-old American boy died because he and his family did not have enough money to buy insulin, which is costly and practically unaffordable unless health insurance is held. This person could have probably positively contributed to society, but he could not.

In conclusion, universal health care help lower the cost of a country economy and help people who are vulnerable to survive and probably contribute to society.