Question: Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charges. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

The issue of copyrights in the music industry and literature has been on debate recently. The violation of copyrights has been dominant across the globe. Despite several conveniences that the free downloading of music and books bring about, I would contend that it could have detrimental efforts on the music sector and literature in general and on artists and writers in particular.

On the one hand, undoubtedly, free-of-charge downloading ensures also unlimited access to a range of sources of music pieces/songs and books. This feature enables internet users to download thousands, convenient for their entertainment and study. While this could save the budget of the audience much, it does great harm to the financial stability of singers, composers, musicians and writers. Once their copyrights are not respected, their income would reduce dramatically.

Though the free access to music and literature works on the web could make them gain more popularity among the public, this could pose a threat of plagiarism. Some novel songs in Vietnamese have shown evidence of plagiarized sound beats from the top-hit international ones. This, in the long run, could deteriorate the creativity among young artists. In addition, the audience would feel more bored and lose their interest in enjoying new music but cling to famous masterpieces of the 60s, 70s or 80s. As a result, the profileration of music and literature masterpieces would be unfeasible.

In conclusion, the free downloading of music and books on the internet has provided the most diverse sources of leisure and research ever. However, I am think that the governors should impose more stringent censorship on the act of downloading by the public to benefit the music and literature industries.