The range and quality of food that we can buy has changed because of

technological and scientific advances. Some people regard this change as an

improvement, while others believe that it is harmful.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, due to technological and scientific development, there is a noticeable difference in types of food as well as food quality compared to those in the past. While I accept that this disparity could be negative, I believe that the benefits of this change outweigh the drawbacks

The negative implications of this change are often discussed in terms of two key areas which are unhealthy food and genetically modified crops. Firstly, people distrust food that may contain a large number of harmful substances which cause detrimental diseases to humans. For example, when applying high tech to food production, factories may utilize chemical materials to facilitate the process, making products poisonous for consumers. Secondly, genetically modified plants might change the whole ecosystem. This is because these crops may be more resistant to disease, insects, and predators, leading to the fact that the food chain could be broken.

A more optimistic prediction, and one that I favor, is that people are using technological advancement in responsible ways to enhance the quality of our lives. From the food production perspective, farmers can produce crops that grow bigger and faster in harsh conditions, which is a good solution to famine in developing countries. In addition, by using scientific inventions, people can change agricultural practices which can reduce pesticides and herbicides harmful to the environment. For instance, the scientific consensus is that the use of transgenic insect-resistant crops is reducing the volume and frequency of insecticide on plants, demonstrating environmental benefits and health advantages for farmworkers.

In conclusion, I am convinced that technological and scientific advancement is improving the range and quality of food and that people’s fears will be unwarranted