In recent times, as standards of living continue to rise, more people have been able to afford their own cars. Growing car ownership has resulted in an increase in traffic congestion. It is my belief that the solution to reducing congestion are the responsibility of both individuals and governments. This essay will outline possible solutions to the problem of traffic congestion and evaluate their potential effectiveness.

To begin with, the main approach to reduce the stream of cars in the streets is improving the public transport system. At first, it should be inexpensive and allow people to use it instead of their cars. Secondly, government should provide comfortable conditions, for example, the air condition throughout the hot season and heater while cold; establish strong graphic of public transport, so people can wait not long and to build covered bus stops. Briefly, the government should do everything to do public transport as comfortable as available for all city dwellers. Nonetheless, it will have high price and it can not be integrated in short period of time but the result will cover all efforts.

Moreover, developing of railway transport such as subway. The underground system is the both cheap and fast way to move around the city. In most part it has no negative sides but the process of building and the price. Even so, not every city can admit such kind of transport due to differences in soil.

Nevertheless, the effort of only government is not enough to solve such problem. Individual car owners should be conscious of the fact that they have influence on congestions. Numerous traffic jams arise because of traffic violations. Another reason is using automobiles to move in short distances while it is unnecessarily and ignoring of other kinds of transport.

To sum up, there is no particular way to solve the problem and many steps should be done to allow these efforts to be effective.