In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. Why are these changes happening? Do you think these changes are positive and negative?

It is true that the traditional notion of the family structure and the role of family members have considered as a thing of the past in the modern life. There have been several changes which, in my opinion, have been really positive.

There are two changes in family roles and structure which could be seen easily. In terms of the family structure, there has been an increasing number of people nowadays who prefer living in a nuclear family instead of in an extended family with three or more generations dwelling under the same roof. In roles terms, after marriage, rather than staying at home as housewives and performing the majority of household tasks as well as looking after children, more women have decided to continue to pursue their own careers. As a result, in many households, husbands now help their spouses to do chores which were once considered as “women’s work”.

I consider such developments as positive for several reasons. The first reason is that children in modern nuclear families could learn to be independent at very early stage since they are sent to a nursery school in which these preschoolers play and learn to socialize. This also enables their grandparents to enjoy old age more fully since they do not need to take care of their grandchildren. An another reason is that a double income allows parents in small families to not only enjoy a higher standard of living but also invest more in their children’s education. Consequently, an abundant financial resource is certainly a great support for their offspring to pursue a higher education in the future. Armed with necessary qualifications, they would make their way in the modern world of work.

In my opinion, there are several losses of the traditional family system and roles, and I believe that these have taken place as positive.