Recent years, the number of crimes committed by young people in major cities throughout the world has been increasing. Why this has happened and how to deal with this problem?
Over the last few decades, many cities around the world have seen alarming increases in the
levels of youth crime. This essay will discuss the reasons for this and provide some possible
solutions.
The first reason is connected with the family. In order for a child to grow up in a balanced
way, it is very important that he or she is nurtured well by his or her parents. However,
these days, it is often the case that children are neglected. This may be because of the fact
that many parents in cities now both have to work so are often not around to give their
children support when needed. Another factor is the increasing levels of poverty around the
world. We have seen with globalization the rich get richer and the poor get poorer, and this
inevitably means that those who are poorer will have to resort to illegal means to get what
others have. Of course, this will include the children in the poorer families.
However, there are ways to tackle such problems. Firstly, one of the ways to combat the
problem is to have stricter punishments. Although, as discussed above, it can be outside
factors that lead to crime, it is still important to have severe punishments to deter teenagers
from crime. All too often, because they are young, the courts are too lenient. Parents also
have to take more responsibility for their children’s actions. They too should be punished if
their children commit crime.
To sum up, several factors have led to increases in youth crime, but measures are available
to tackle this problem.