Scientists have controversial views on whether our personality is derived from our experiences in life or they are written in stone prior to our birth. I personally believe that although our heredity plays a pivotal role in our character, this is not rigid and can be changed during life.

On the one side, our genes act as a foundation for our qualities since we step into this world, as is apparent by observing infants reacting differently to the same stimuli. Scholars assert that attributes like happiness and courage are deeply rooted in one’s body and DNA. For instance, based on the studies done on the ones known as risk-takers, they proved that one part of their brain related to the sense of fear works differently than that of ordinary people. In addition, individuals from families with a depression history are more likely to suffer from the same disorder.

On the other side, people are exposed to a range of experiences since early childhood, which leads anyone through a unique story and shapes their personalities in various ways. Although researchers argue that one’s character is mostly formed since early ages, this is apparent that humankind is free to decide on their behavior. As an example, numerous psychological and self-care books are written to help people modify their attributes and improve their well-being, combined with high-quality academic investigation and services provided by therapists.

In conclusion, from my personal standpoint, the notion that our traits are unchangeable is seemingly a commonly held misconception, which is proved to be wrong by the development of professional help provided by general publications and mental health centers.