In this day and age, the use of web conferencing systems to host online business meetings, training or webinars is increasingly popular. This trend has both benefits and drawbacks that will be discussed below.

In terms of the positive, the widespread use of online video conferencing programs in business helps reduce costs for employee transportation, hotel accommodation, meals. The money saved could be better spent on more important aspects such as marketing, which brings in more potential profits. Another benefit is that web conferencing has made it easier for business to stay in contact with their staff and clients in different locations all over the world. This gives enterprises the golden opportunities to expand their business worldwide without worrying about the problems caused by inability of their remote employee to attend company meetings.

Regarding the negative, online business meetings or webinars require a reliable and stable internet connection so that they could be successfully conducted. A poor network connection could result in disrupted communication. Another drawback is the lack of face-to-face interaction which is often considered to be the key to a successful meeting or training session. Facial expressions and body language convey a great deal of information, and unconscious communication cues help to facilitate discussion. These cues could be missed or lost entirely when a meeting is held virtually, making online meetings more difficult and increasing the possibility of misunderstandings.

In conclusion, web conferencing systems have double-edged impacts on the evolution and development of companies or enterprises. Despite disadvantages, the growing popularity of online meetings has helped many businesses reduce some of their expenses and enter international markets more easily.