Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The gap between the so called "first world" and the poorer countries is a huge problem and needs to be addressed properly. Many wealthy states or international organizations allocate financial resources trying to solve, or at least to mitigate, this endemic issue. A part of the public opinion believe that those kinds of help are unuseful, describing them as a palliative that not face the roots of the poverty. I slightly agree with this opinion, however, I think that the cash aid is useful in a short-term perspective.

The deep causes of the poverty are very complex and difficult to understand: to summarize, we can say that it is not simply a lack of resources but instead a systemic problem: an unstable political context, a chronic inefficiency of the infrastructures, a low-educated population and so on. For example if the streets, the transportation for the people and the goods, are scarce or, worse, nonexistent, any investor is automatically discouraged to invest in a territory that can not guarantee a profitable income. It is almost naive thinking that a simply "cash injection" is sufficient to change those conditions.

On the other hand, some states, especially the poorest ones, are in such serious situation that many problems must be faced immediately, in short-term vision. Many countries are devastated by the war, or extremely serious diseases, and the citizens are life endangered, an prompty aid is absolutely necessary. For example, during the recent epidemy of Ebola, only the effort of many rich countries was been able to contain the humanitarian emergency and to save lives.

To conclude, I believe that those kinds of help are unuseful, describing them as vinced that the rich countries should invest resources to help the poorest states to be self-sufficient an those goal can be achieved on the long therm with a different range of aids that can not be limited only to the monetary ones, but sometimes the financial intervention is necessary to overcome the most serious crises.