The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of modern life.Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The extended use of ready-made food items has proven beneficial to cope up with the pace of contemporary living. The advantages of this trend include being time-effective and readily available. However; the disadvantages of this development outweigh the advantages.

Undoubtedly, the convenient food saves a lot of time in this fast-moving world. In such an era a person has very less time to attend to himself, therefore, ready-made food is a blessing. It takes five minutes to serve such food items in contrast to the home-made foods which can take at least half an hour. Moreover, these food items are available round the clock. The use of preservatives allows them to last for longer periods of time without being spoiled. Therefore, an offseason vegetable can be eaten in any season.

On the other hand, the use of canned foods has a number of disadvantages. Firstly, Such foods prove to be health deteriorating. These food items contain a lot of chemicals which make them unsafe for consumption. The chemical substances used as preservatives pose a serious threat to health. In addition to this, the nutritional value of such foods has been under scanner from the time of their evolution. It is believed that packaged foods contain a lot of sugar, salt and fewer nutrients thus making them undernutrition. The high volume of sugar and salt can cause acute diseases like Diabetes, chronic disorders, etc. Secondly, one cannot be assured that such foods are free from impurities and have not been contaminated. These foods are believed to contain a large number of unwanted and harmful substances. A recent quality check in the India's one of the top brand Biryani rice leads to the shocking results. it was found to be contaminated with carcasses of crows. Another ready-made food called Maggi was banned as it was found to contain Lead which acts as a slow poison. Last but not the least, this food prove to be very costly. They are two times costlier than the unpackaged foods.

In conclusion, irrefutably the convenience foods save a lot of time and are easily available; however, they pose a serious threat to life besides being contaminated and costly. Therefore, disadvantages outweigh advantages of this trend. I believe if the quality of canned food Is taken seriously people will tend to use it more.