With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books.

Some people see this is as good step forward, while other do not.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays with the expansion of the internet in the world and the provision of tremendous opportunities to access a large amount of materials, people tend to read books through the Internet, rather than read regular books. Reading books online can offer a number of benefits; however, there are also possible drawbacks as well.

The first advantage of reading e-books is that readers can easily download several books from the internet simultaneously, while to search for same books from book shops are more difficult. So people should not to carry several paper books, which are heavier; however, it is possible carry books in laptops or in smartphones which result in reading in comfortable conditions whenever they want. Another advantage of the e-book trend is the fact that they are environmentally friendly. This means that the trees are protected from being cut down in order to make a thousand books to sell. As a result, it will help trees to function in their natural environment to absorb carbon and release vital oxygen that are more necessary for our polluted climate.

There are also disadvantages as reading e-books too much might adversely affect readers` eyes. Because of ultra violet rays, the smart technologies can be responsible for the problem of eye vision which can become a serious problem in people`s future life. In addition, bookstores are the last stage of this industry, as it consists of forestry, which cuts and produces trees for further use, paper factories, factories that print books, and finally, stores that distribute them. Accordingly, less demand for printed books can affect these companies, which are closely related, leading to an increase in world unemployment.

In conclusion, reading e-books, rather than paper books, has advantages that make life more comfortable and preserve the environment, but there are also disadvantages that worsen human health and increase unemployment.