School should concentrate on teaching students the academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Subjects such as music and sports are not useful.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that teaching academic subjects should be the principal aproach of schools to prepare students for better jobs in their future, while alternative subjects such as music and sports are considered as wasting time. Personally, I think that both types of subjects could be practical, and I therefore disagree with the statement that music and sports are not useful subjects.

On the one hand, alternative courses could sometimes be helpful for future careers. For example, learning how to sing or play a musical instrument could bring benefits for students in networking events or having job promotions. My cousin once told me about his experience when he got a promotion as a marketing manager for his talent and bravery because he volunteered to perform a show at his company event for clients. Another course that I find helpful and essential is sports. In my opinion, sports could bring benefits to students because they help them to improve their strength to work under pressure or they could expand their professional network by playing sports with their colleagues or partners.

On the other hand, schools should teach students academic subjects because they will help them to pursue their dreams on professional area. If students want to be scientists or biologists, they need to have basic knowledge of academic subjects such as mathematics, geography, biology, which should be taught at school before enrolling in universities or going to work. In my case, it took me around one year to study basic knowledge of Probality and Mathematical Statistics at highschool for pursuing my dream job as a Maket Researcher at university.

In conclusion, academic subjects are essential for students, but subjects such as music and sports could be equally practical and helpful for different circumstances.