School should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions diverge on whether a foreign language should be selective in schools’ curriculum. Although some fervently advocate this sentiment, I am on the opposite side owing to students’ success and countries’ economy.

Admittedly, the future success of a student is attributed to encouraging bilingualism in children. During years at school, students' study progress can be improved forward. If students master a foreign language and have degrees, they can have chances to study abroad which brings to students a quality learning environment. After graduating, with foreign language degrees, they can win recruiters’ favor when applying to a company in this day and age. Due to globalization, the explosion of multinational companies lead to higher demand in recruiting biliterate employees. Therefore, the success rate of a student who studies a foreign language is greater than one who is language illiterate.

Further and even more importantly, the country’ economy can be refined if schools coerce their students into learning a second language. Conspicuously, now that students who study different languages stand better opportunities of pursuing tertiary education in abroad countries. After a long time being trained, overseas scholars can come back to their home country to work with professional virtuosity, so the economy will be improved. In some cases, they also send remittances home to family members; hence, that contributes to a thriving economy. In addition, the tourism industry is of paramount importance to the development of the country. This smokeless industry requires a numerous number of workers who are adept at languages. Thus, imposing this mandatory subject to learners is necessary.

By way of conclusion, a second language takes a pivotal role in students’ achievement and the country’s economic growth.