Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s modern world, people hold different views about whether parents should apply homeschooling or not send their offsprings to traditional schools. I personally disagree with the idea that just only stay at home and obtain knowledge from the Internet, the children could become a successful people in the future.

On the one hand, There are several reasons why some critics believe that E-learning and home-based education are advantageous in certain ways. This is because the learners are able to access almost any information they need. This is well illustrated by the fact that a Vietnamese student just sitting in his private room can figure out how children in Africa are combating with the daily poverty and a high schooler in the US can easily look up information about the trend of development amongst ASEAN countries. However, in an enormous amount of information, it is likely that children find themselves disoriented. It is not to mention misleading information, which is popularly found on uncensored websites. In contrast, at school, learners receive guidance and explanations for particular topics provided by well-qualified teachers.

Nevertheless, I personally support the idea that the children should go to school. The ones are not only a place of knowledge-centred education but also a miniature society where children are able to make friends with their classmates, which equips them vital interpersonal skills and builds their future social relationships. On contrary, individuals who apply homeschooling have limited social connection and perhaps they have rarely extracurricular activities to participate in. In addition to that, learners would receive formal education include academic knowledge and moral lessons such as politeness, honesty and respect towards older people. Without schooling, children may not comprehensively develop into useful citizens.

In conclusion, home-based education has its own good sides. However, I concur that the children should go to schools to get thoroughly both academic knowledge and other social skills.