Schools should give equal importance to academics as well as extracurricular and co-curricular activities. Do you agree or disagreee?

Education for life is the motto every school has to follow, which means it should prepare young minds to master knowledge as well as acquire the essential tools required for quality living. Awareness,  communication skills, social etiquette, integrity, confidence, and courage are  the hallmarks of a truly educated personality. It is the moral responsibility of every educational institute to inculcate these attributes and merely focusing on academics will not suffice. So I believe co- curricular and extra -curricular activities such as public speaking, music and sports should be an integral part of education.

Holistic education is the need of the hour. This is the age of knowledge explosion and all kinds of information are available on our fingertips. So, it is not information, but skills and talents that have to be promoted in school. Ample opportunities should be provided by way of individual and group activities to sharpen skills. Public Speaking and dramatics open doors for facing an audience and airing own views. It reduces stage-fright, instils confidence and prepares the participants for future life.

Facing interview, participating in group discussions and making impressive presentations pave way for career development, so a platform for debates and discussions help the young ones develop analytical and argumentative skills. When it comes to music dance or art work, it brings out a child's  aesthetic sensibilities that give shape to civilized personality.

When it comes to sports, it is a complete package that teaches team spirit, leadership qualities, communication skills and the need to put the common good above individual advancement. It makes a young mind ready to face the demands and responsibilities of adult life.

To conclude, academic pursuits are essential for success in life but we should not undermine the contribution of other activities that promote personality development.