Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

There are some arguments about which would have authority in doing researches relevant to science. In my opinion, I strongly believe that this responsibility should belong to the government.

First, the government probably has a more stable financial condition. For example, money which private companies use for carrying out the researches comes from the profit of business. Apparently, there is not any firm confirmation that companies always working well enough for ensuring the steady financial source providing for researches. In contrast, the government often has a budget for these scientific surveys to make sure they are carried out without any interruption. Spending on science experiments which can improve the life condition for people is also one of their responsibilities.

Second, the great influence of the government have on people can be more than privates companies. When the results of these researches are public pronounced, they will get many attentions from people because surveys made by the government are usually considered as official information.

Third, these researches done by the government would be more reliable than those undertaken by private business. In general, doing scientific researches might be considered as marketing tool with mostly aiming to profit and brand promotion. The results of those might not bring back social benefit but more personal for private business. Therefore, government should take over this duty to advantage of society.

To sum up, despite the disagreement about which has the right to control researches between the government and private companies, I still support the idea that the former is appropriate organization for this activity.