Nowadays, due to the consumption of processed food many health related concer are rising. Some people, therefore argue that, through education this problem can be ameliorated, while there are others who are of the view that this is an unachievable task. I find it more logical to endorse the latter view, the reasons for which will be enumerated in this essay.

On the one hand, supporters of the prior viewpoint might say that, education is one of the best ways to tackle this problem. This is because people nowadays have no idea about their daily intake of carbohydrates or fats. Both these are present in higher quantities in junk foods, leading to problems such as obesity and inadequate development. This will also cause health problems I the future. For example, recent researches have shown that, too much consumption of processed food will lead to problems such as liver or heart failure in the later life of a person. So through campaigns or initiatives these problems can be thwarted.

However, I believe that this is not a practical approach. By simply imparting education the consumption of junk food will not decrease. Nowadays majority of people in our society are well-educated. They are all aware about the consequences of these problems, yet that are too lazy or ignorant to change their lifestyles. These people find it more easy to consume convenience food rather than following a healthy diet. For instance, a bust manager will find it more easy to grab a packet of instant noodles rather than to prepare dosa or chappathi at home. So in these cases education will be ineffective. A better solution is to impose high taxes on junk food and make healthy food more affordable and more easily available.

In conclusion, I believe that education alone is highly unlikely to reduce the consumption of junk food, a better solution is to impose high taxes and make good food readily available.