It is no doubt true that the majority of people would like to be happy in their lives. While the
personal nature of happiness makes it difficult to describe, there do seem to be some common
needs that we all share with regard to experiencing or achieving happiness.
Happiness is difficult to define because it means something different to each individual person.
Nobody can fully understand or experience another person’s feelings, and we all have our own
particular passions from which we take pleasure. Some people, for example, derive a sense of
satisfaction from earning money or achieving success, whereas for others, health and family are
much more important. At the same time, a range of other feelings, from excitement to
peacefulness, may be associated with the idea of happiness, and the same person may therefore
feel happy in a variety of different ways.
Although it seems almost impossible to give a precise definition of happiness, most people
would agree that there are some basic preconditions to achieving it. Firstly, it is hard for a person
to be happy if he or she does not have a safe place to live and enough food to eat. Our basic
survival needs must surely be met before we can lead a pleasant life. Secondly, the greatest joy
in life is usually found in shared experiences with family and friends, and it is rare to find a
person who is content to live in complete isolation. Other key factors could be individual
freedom and a sense of purpose in life.
In conclusion, happiness is difficult to define because it is particular to each individual, but I
believe that our basic needs for shelter, food and company need to be fulfilled before we can
experience it.