Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Millions of languages are being spoken around the world. Nevertheless, it is expected that in a near future, there may be only one global language which is used. This seems to be a positive social development, however, I would argue that this would be a detriment to the diversity of humankind.

In the first place, language stands for cultural diversity and historical values of every nation. It is linked to human’s regions, beliefs, and lifestyles. Using only one language would be likely to contribute to the disappearance of these precious aspects of human’s life. If we all speak the same language, it would eliminate the key point to distinguish people from different parts of the world with different cultural identities. Moreover, language symbolizes people’s origins and defines their characters.

For instance, France has been known as the land of romance, which is because French is the language of love.

On the other hand, this development also has positive sides. A global language will be the facilitation of international communication. It can get rid of linguistic barrier in human’s life and helps everyone from all over the world understand each other much more easily.

In conclusion, using a universal language has benefits, however, I personally think it has more drawbacks.