Should children receive money to do household chores or should they be taught that this is an unpaid responsibility? Discuss your opinion.

In kids’ fledging stages of maturity, harnessing skills for future careers is of paramount importance, and doing housework is also a good way to do that. For this reason, parents are inclined to get their children to roll up their sleeves and take on household chores. While some parents motivate their kids to do so by paying them money as a reward, the opponents maintain that children must be responsible for doing those work. From my perspective, they should not be paid for doing housework.

First, children’s gaining internalized impetus for daily chores is critical. it appears that drilling the responsibility to do housekeeping into people cultivates their self-discipline and spontaneity. In the long run, they will become fully aware of their responsibility and seduce themselves into helping with chores properly, seeing that as an obvious way to fulfill their onus. Moreover, self-discipline and inner motivation derived from their free contribution to housework can enhance kids’ dutifulness, which will gradually produce a fertile breeding ground for success.

Some people maintain that money can be a reward for them after their contribution to housework, as it will make them more devoted to housekeeping. However, what this argument fails to consider is that paying them after doing chores can be considered bribery for their laziness and pragmatism, which gradually imprints negative materialism on their minds. To exemplify, children with a small reward after having fulfilled duties will value their time and effort over money, and in the worst-case scenario, they will no longer desire to dedicate freely, such as doing charity or volunteer work. In this point of fact, it is critical to instill children with the onus of carrying out housework.

To reiterate, successful kids are those who internalize all the work that should be done. For this reason, they should be taught to do chores without being paid.