Should the government preserve old buildings or build new ones

In some circumstances, keeping the cultural tradition and modernizing the city service are contradictory. While the general trend of the city service, especially the modernization and industrial development, will naturally be strengthened as the growth of economic rise, some old buildings become the hot potato for the government in that their historical meanings hurdle the plan of modernization.

On the one hand, many people argue that old buildings should be closed and even reconstructed since they are not useful any more. One example can be found in the statement of Nanjing government’s decision on removing the central theatre that used to be the symbolic architecture of the city, which shows the reason is that the theatre cannot continue to work because of its weak and old design. This phenomenon frequently happens in contemporary society, which demonstrates that these buildings are becoming the barriers of modernization since most of them located in the central area where many new buildings will replace them. From this perspective, keeping the old buildings is the waste of social resources.

On the other hand, a number of opponents believe that it is too narrow to claim that the old buildings without economic value are useless and should be abandoned. The evolution of the palace museum provides an excellent evidence of how to maintain the old buildings without wasting valuable social resource. Situated at the golden area of Beijing, the palace museum now is redesigned to be a well-known public place for citizens as the symbol of not only Beijing but the Chinese culture. Meanwhile, the economic income brought by selling tickets and souvenirs offset the potential financial loss and the sinking cost caused by the maintenance. Besides, the critical point is the museum and other relevant old buildings are bearers of traditional culture, reminding us of the splendid history and encouraging new generations to achieve greater purposes.

For my standpoint, the extreme opinion of destroying all old buildings for new ones is awash with short-sight bias, which merely eradicates our cultural foundations and sites of memories. I believe wherever the old building is, if it need to be removed should depend on the professional assessment of its historical and economic values.