Should male and female students to be taught together in college. What are some of the problems and benefits of studying together and separately?

No one can argue that male and female are the different side of coin that attached together. It is very necessary to learn and accept the different characters of the opposite gender in younger people. Therefore, some people think that it is good idea to educate both genders in the same class in college. However, this measure also has some negative effects to students. Both positive and negative sides of this practice will be discussed further.

On the one hand, there are many advantages of co-education. Firstly, learning in the same infrastructure with the opposite sex helps students to learn socially acceptable behaviors with the other gender. Female students will know how to socialize and interact with males perhaps men also learn to respect and treat women with good manners. Moreover, both genders will be familiar with each other perspective live styles and preference which help them to understand and respect each other when they will become mature. For example, women in some Asian countries especially Muslim women are not willing to study or operate work with the other gender because religious reasons. If traditional women attend co-education, they will learn how to behave properly with men whereas men also know acceptable behaviors with strict women.

On the other hand, it also has some drawbacks of this practice. First and foremost, sexual attraction in a heterogeneous classroom easily distracts students on their studies and may lead to unwanted relationship instead. Sexual harassment or teenage pregnancy can be happened in a mixed gender school. This is because, many college students are more likely curious about sex and some have unhealthy sexual behaviors or do not know how to protect themselves. As a result, some teenagers have several transmitted diseases such as HIV or syphilis which are very harmful or some girls became unexpected mother.

In conclusion, even though studying in a mixed gender college can lead to some health problems and disturb education performance, I still believe that it develops characters of both genders appropriately.