Social media enable people to keep in touch with each other and learn about news events. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

It is true that along with information update, social networking sites have facilitated connection between residents. While this tendency has several benefits, its drawbacks are also discernible.

On the one hand, communication and news publicity through social media are recognized as a favorable trend thanks to a number of reasons. To begin with, sites such as Twitter and Facebook are versatile, and their various features have made it easier than ever to maintain contacts between citizens. Indeed, it is personal posts, text messaging or video call functions that enormously support users to keep abreast of their friends and families despite long distance, which used to be impossible in previous centuries. In addition, no sooner had social networking sites became prevalent than they were leveraged by media outlets to provide up-to-the-minute news. Hence, in comparison to the past, when the major population relied on newspapers and magazines published daily or weekly, information has been unprecedentedly more accessible as a result of this technological breakthrough.

On the other hand, social platform also induces concerns over many aspects. From an information perspective, most internet communities entitle all users to freely publicize news and personal viewpoints, after which they go viral without advance verification. As a consequence, were these contents not authentic or contain offensive details, not only would this distort facts, but it also negatively influences the public’s insights of a certain issue. From a health perspective, it is inevitable that using social media, residents channel more time into using electronic devices rather than joining physical activities. Therefore, a long exposure to blue light from them may lead to a higher incidence of refractive errors, whereas the sedentary lifestyle they accidentally adopted makes them more prone to metabolism disorders.

Briefly, the emergence of online forums as a major tool for socializing and news acquisition has a double-edged impacts on people.