Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Laws and principles indeed are the fundamental base to form a community. However, it is sometimes argued that the citizens should be given free rein to do whatever they want. I wholeheartedly disagree with this opinion.

First and foremost, laws and order play a critical role in building up a civil society. They ensure safety while leading all citizens to conduct moral acts. For example, to manage and prevent high-profile criminal cases from their occurrence, law enforcement agencies have introduced rules that strictly forbid all citizens from engaging in any crime of violating and murder. If the residents do not follow the rules, the offenders would have to face legal prosecution. In this way, the establishment of the legal framework has bound all people living in a community to the standard of acceptable behaviors, therefore serving the common good that contributes to a safe and organized society.

Additionally, I do believe that the absence of a penitentiary system could raise rates of civil unrest. As the citizens, in this case, have every right to do whatever they want, they might act above ethical and moral values. Consequently, there is a high chance of public disorder happening, which may even cause public riots against the general community. The excessive freedom to behave thereby indeed counteracting the positive effects it could have brought to society.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that a penitentiary system is essential for social progress in which has an important role in maintaining justice and equality.