Some believe that computer games are bad for children, while others believe that such games are useful for them. State the advantage and disadvantage and give your opinion.

It is believed computer games are dangerous for children. However, some people argue such games have more advantages. Although these can help children improve the problem solving, It is claimed that such games reduce their academic performance.

One benefit of playing computer games can enhance problem solving skills of children, improving their thinking skills. That is to say, when the young play the games, they need to think in many possible ways, because such games challenge them to complete levels with many different difficulties. For example, Thai kids playing DOTA ONE should decide 2-minute-effective strategies to fight the bots from 1st-10th level, having critical thinking to win the matches, impacting to be creative to tackle daily problems. Despite the fact that this might be acceptable, I think children who spend their time playing such games can get addicted easily, so it can negatively affect their studies.

However, the drawback of spending time on PC games can decrease students’ ability to score good grades in their exams. In other words, they are more likely to have less time to concentrate on their studies, as they put too much their energy, efforts, and time playing such games, and this results in them leaving behind in the class. For example, in 2018, most Jakarta’s students might be incapable to result A score in national examination due to wasting everyday time on Counter-Strike at night over 8 hours, suffering from sleep deprivation, lacking of concentration, then the study pace was too slow. Therefore, games tend to intervene students’ attainment at school.

In conclusion, in spite of PC games being beneficial in terms of nurturing youngsters’ problem solving skills, I believe this could have adverse effects in their education. Where possible, students are taught to manage their time when playing such games as to prevent them from such interruptions.