Some believe that dangerous sports should be banned, while others think that people should be free to choose. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The popularity of extreme sports has soared in recent years. Whilst some individuals want to ban these sports, some people and I have the opinion that humans have the right to choose whatever they want to do. In this essay, both perspectives along with my point of view will be demonstrated before reaching a conclusion.

On one hand, every human on the earth have the right to do anything even if it may risk his life. Many sportsmen nowadays are risking their lives due to the rush of adrenaline and to have more fun although the percentage of mortality are increasing every year. In addition to this, despite the rate of deaths, the audience of thrill-seekers are growing. This is exemplified by the number of sponsors who are paying millions of dollars to advertise their products and this reflects how these sports are becoming famous and effective. Thus, governments have not the right to ban them.

On the other hand, adventure sports have led to many injuries and deaths among young people. Many youngsters, who eager for an adrenaline rush, are trying to copy their extreme sports idols and emulating their tricks; therefore, they put themselves at terrible risks. Moreover, many participants, who are filled with overconfidence, lack of skills and training for these stunts, are exposed to serious injuries like broken bones, crushed skulls and life-long disabilities. According to the data collected by the National Electronic Injury Surveillance System, more than four million injuries attributed to extreme sports occurred from 2000 through 2011. Hence, many people are advocating for the banning of these dangerous sports.

In conclusion, if governments want to eliminate risks, they should ban many other human activities such as driving and travelling by plane. Therefore, I hold the perspective that people should feel free in their choices and stakeholders should provide the suitable training and the facilities for such sports to meet the legal safety standards.