Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether young members of families should take care of other members, who are either sick or poor, is a controversial issue. I somewhat agree with the view even though young people should not be held responsible for their relatives under some special circumstances.

The main reason I support of this viewpoint is that without the needed assistance from other younger household members, those people who are disable or broke would feel desperate, which leads to their antisocial behaviors. This in turn can have detrimental impacts on their loved ones and society as a whole. Thus, supporting of other members in families would safeguard young people from unwanted events and contribute to the safety of their immediate vicinity.

Another justification for helping less advantaged relatives is that it would relieves the family members of temporary hardships in life, which encourages them to overcome these challenges and live better off. If these people receive the necessary aid in forms of money, motivation and so forth, they can get recover sooner and start over their career and life.

However, there are still occasions when young individuals can shirk their responsibility for people having close relationship with them. This is especially the case for criminals, who have tendency to repeat their law-offending behaviors. Given their recidivism inclination, these people would make the same mistakes whether they are assisted by other people or not.

In sum, by helping other family members, young persons could avoid negative impacts from them while these people become ill and bankruptcy. However, it is uneccessry to aid other memebers if they are repeatitive law-breakers. Therefore, I mostly side with the perspective that young people should be made legally accountable for other unprivileged people in the same family.