Some businesses now say that no one can smoke cigarettes in any of their offices. Some governments have banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea but it takes away some of our freedom.

In more developed countries, there is increasing concern about previously unknown dangers to people’s health, now that traditional killers (particularly contagious diseases) can usually be dealt with by modern medical science. One of these dangers is smoking, which is now generally accepted as being a leading cause of heart and lung disease, and hence of premature death. As a result, many countries have introduced legislation banning smoking in all public places. Is this a good idea? Does it take away some of our freedom? My answer to both questions is “yes”. The main problem with smoking is that it can be a danger not only to those who smoke, but also to those who do not. There is widespread evidence of second-hand smoking causing the deaths of numerous people, though admittedly this evidence is not accepted by everyone, especially smokers themselves and the tobacco industry. Smoking can affect non-smokers in other ways. Many non-smokers dislike going to places where there are smokers because the smell of tobacco gets onto their clothes. The direct effect of this is having to have their clothes cleaned afterwards, but it has another result – non-smokers tend to stay away from places where there are smokers. The resultant loss of revenue can be a major problem for businesses in the leisure industry. Smokers would argue that their freedom is being taken away by anti-smoking legislation. They are correct. Legislation usually results in loss of freedom for someone. The reason that people generally accept legislation is that people understand that legislation is designed to benefit them. Almost everyone dislikes paying taxes, but it is generally accepted that taxes are necessary since governments need to finance activities in such fields as education, administration and infrastructure. This is also the case with anti-smoking legislation. It is designed to protect the health of smokers and non-smokers alike. To conclude, I accept that banning smoking in public places is a limit on freedom, but I believe that it is a necessary one to help protect the health of the general public.