Sports is an activity in which most children participate these days. While some like to pursue it as a major interest others play sports just as a hobby. In my opinion, playing sports seriously is a positive development, because sports not only teaches children discipline but also to focus on achieving their goals irrespective of their failures or shortcomings.

It is well known that children who participate in sports activities from early age tend to be more disciplined and organised. It is instilled in them to be on time and to be well trained beforehand. These qualities are not only crucial in sports but are also important life skills. For instance, my cousin who is an accomplished tennis player is well appreciated by his family and colleagues for being punctual and well organised. This shows the positive influence sports can have on a person. Also, sports helps in maintaining fitness in youngsters. Instead of spending free time on TV or internet, sports is definitely a healthier alternative. In addition to this, many universities offer scholarships to youngsters who are talented in sports which in turn is beneficial for their career.

Moreover, young people playing sports are trained to conquer their target/goal. They are better equipped to overcome failures as compared to their counter parts due to this quality. The "never say die"attitude helps them flourish even in their future lives. An example of this can be seen in many sports persons who, despite their failures in the field of sports, are successful businessmen. This proves that sports is of prime importance for the developing a strong and independent character.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that children should pursue sports not only in their leisure time but seriously so that it helps them grow into successful individuals. Schools and universities should provide facilities for these children to encourage them in taking part in sports.